Capital Area Population Population Language Flag

Nouakchott 1,030,700 km² 3.08 million inhabitants Arabic, Bambara, Wolof and French

Main religion

Islam is the main religion in Mauritania.

Political system

Since independence, the Islamic Republic has been established in Mauritania.


Mauritania is divided into 13 wilayas. Each wilaya is itself subdivided into moughataaa (52 in total): Adrar, Assaba, Brakna, Dakhlet Nouadhibou, Gorgol, Guidimagha, Hodh Ech Chargui, Hodh El Gharbi, Inchiri, Nouakchott, Tagant, Tirit Zemmour, Trarza


Mauritania is in Africa. It is bordered to the west by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by Senegal from which it is separated by the river, to the southeast and east by Mali, to the northeast by Algeria and to the northwest by Western Sahara. Two thirds of Mauritania's territory is in the Sahara, so the desert, made up of sand and stone, dominates the geography. The highest mountain in the country, with an altitude of 915 m, is in the north near Zouérate. The Adrar and Tagant are the main rocky massifs with altitudes rarely exceeding 600 m. At the foot of these tabular reliefs lie the immense plateaus that form the northern and eastern part of Mauritania.


Mauritania's climate is hot and arid, with risks of sandstorms in spring and a high temperature range between day and night. It rains mainly in the South between July and September. The best time to visit Mauritania is from November to February. Currency 100 ouguiyas: 0.34 Euros


Yellow fever vaccine required. Recommended ani-malarial treatment. We recommend that you consult your doctor before leaving.

Good to know

It is advisable to drink bottled water. Light clothing, raincoat and sunscreen are required. The flight time from Paris is about 5 hours. - 2 hours jet lag in summer and - 1 hour in winter. 220 Volts. Right-hand drive.